Whales CC triumphant in PH T20 & ODI series

The Whales Cricket Club wins the 2016/17 Port Harcourt Cricket League’s T20 & O.D.I (50-0ver) series.   NCF promises improved and continued support for the league.

The Finals of the Port Harcourt Cricket league was awesome as this was termed “THE BEST OF THE BEST
 Bookmakers gave the day to Whales Cricket Club already with the T20 Trophy in their bag and 5 out of 6 victories in the One Day league series. Pundits gave the day to K-11 Cricket Club who were the only team to defeat the Mighty Whales CC

Whales CC won the toss and elected to bat. The clapping side they say is the winning side as Whales pavilion started the clapping as opening batsmen for their team, Douglas Humble & Danladi Isaac took the crease to face Fierce-looking K11 fielders with their Navy blue attires with tops that hugged their chests that reminded me of African football champions (The indomitable lions of Cameroon.clive 2











 After 2 overs, both openers couldn’t take the heat in the kitchen” so had to be sent back to the pavilion as both openers ducked. Ajao Borris & Isaac Okpe came in 3 & 4 respectively but still couldn’t last as both batsmen faced 10 balls apiece after scoring 4 & 8 runs respectively to keep the scores @ 12 runs for 4 wickets in 5 overs.clive 3











Things turned around for Whales when the two veterans of the game Rawlings Yenigha & Obruthe Clive Ogbimi came in as  middle order batsmen to steady the sinking ship. Both scored 34 & 33 runs before taking a bow to allow Adebiyi Adebola 6, Emmanuel Gowon 4, Fate Funeface 2 Not out, Miebaka Philip 5 & Musa Mairiga 1 & 36 extras from the fielding side contributed to a total of 129 runs all out in 34.4 over.clive 5











Chibuike Nwankwo & Isiaka Audu were excellent in their bowling as both got 3 wickets each.
In the second innings, the two Charles of K11 (Chinedu & Pius) started well by holding on to their wickets to shield all “missile onslaught” from Emmanuel Gowon & Isaac Okpe from both ends of Whales bowling attack. Finally, both batsmen crumbled to Isaac Okpe as Chinedu was caught by Bagshaw Miebaka and Pius was bowled with 8 and 6 runs to their names. Isiaka Audu 7, Benjamin Simon 1, Benjamin Nwogu 7, Didi Jotham Micah 12 runs kept the board ticking slowly and surely as K11 kept believing. Ibiso Ogidi 4, Skipper Idika Nnamdi 4, Rose Godpower 1 and Sinclair Elei 1 still kept them in the run chase.

 The man of the series, Chibuike Nwankwo fought with the bat as he did with the ball as he scored 28 runs off 44 balls including 28 extras giving K11 a total of 95 runs all out in 30 overs.

Whale CC won the match by 34 runs to be crowned champions
Isaac Okpe was voted man of the match with his 6 overs, 11 runs, 3 maidens and 4 wickets performance with the ball.FB_IMG_1488367478978








The President of the Federation Engr. Emeka Onyeama in his good will message to the organizers of the league, he promised to improve on the level of support in regards to financial and other means and make sure the support will be continuous as long as his administration is concerned noting that the PHCL is part of the future of Nigeria Cricket.

Dignitaries who graced the Finals were; Prof. Ken Anugweje (Director, Sports institute UNIPORT), Mr Colonel Bruno (Cricket Enthusiast), Mr Emmanuel Jaja (Secretary, RSCA), Mr Omiete Edwin & Mr Tekena Lulu-Pokubo (Sports council officials), Mr Cyril Djeah (Panthers CC Team Manager), Tamuno John (Nigeria U19 Coach), Others were; IMO state Cricket team (Winners of the just concluded Chuma Anosike championship), Police Children school 1 (Winners of Maiden NCF Primary schools tournament in Rivers state, Emarid primary school primary school Cricket team, and many too numerous to mention.clive

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *